Malawi beats Chad 2-0 in the 2013 Africa Cup qualifiers – – Football, Netball, Basketball, Hockey,Tennis and sports in Malawi

Malawi beats Chad 2-0 in the 2013 Africa Cup qualifiers

Share Button

Malawi beat Chad 2-0 today in Blantyre to qualify for the final qualifying round of the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations. Chad had won the first leg 3-2 played in N’Djamena three months ago but with an aggregate score of 4-3 Malawi sail through.

Malawi should have scored more goals with Joseph Kamwendo missing a penalty in the the 30th minute of the first half, but Malawi will be happy just to qualify after showing poor results this year.

John Banda scored the first goal in the 32nd minute soon after the penalty to settle the jittery Malawi side.

Joseph Kamwendo atoned for his sin of missing a penalty by beautifully slotting in a 30 metre thunderbolt for the second goal for Malawi.

Coach Kinnah Phiri has come under pressure in recent weeks from Malawi fans who wanted him out. This win will ease the pressure, but fans are not happy with Malawi’s tendency to draw and see Kinnah Phiri as overly using defensive tactics in play, always favouring the 4-4-2 formation in any match without variation.

Malawi fans also are unhappy that the coach is becoming arrogant and dismissive of criticism. Incidentally, after Malawi scored the second goal fans started singing praises to Kinnah Phiri.

In other games, on Friday, Egypt were beaten at home by the new football sensation Central African Republic 3-2 in Alexandria and the three time African champions are at risk of failing to qualify for consecutive finals having missed out the final this year.

On Friday as well Algeria thumped the Gambia 4-1 to move to the next round.

Goalkeeper: Simplex Nthala.
Defenders: Moses Chavula, Limbikani Mzava, James Sangala, Foster Namwela.
Midfielders: Davie Banda, Joseph Kamwendo, Chimango Kayira, John Banda (-55).
Strikers: Robin Ngalande (-59), Jimmy Zakazaka(-83).
Subs: Peter Pindani (+55), Frank Banda (+59), Chiukepo Msowoya (+83)

Koulara Armel, Ndoubam Sylvain, Nicaise Kévin, Abaya César, Adoum Abakar, Djingabeye Appolinaire, Madalangue César , Alladjim Mondésir, Doumnan Herman, Gassina Ferdinand, Betorangal Morgan, Hissein Hassan, Mbaiam Marius, Ninga Rodrigue, Saleh Mahamat Habib, Djimrangar Léger, Labbo Mahamat Ahmat, Barthélémy Karl Max.

Share Button

Leave a Comment