2015 CARLSBERG CUP TO KICKOFF ON 30 MAY – Zampirampira.com – Football, Netball, Basketball, Hockey,Tennis and sports in Malawi


Share Button

The Carlsberg Cup is back for 2015 after Carlsberg Malawi extended its contract with FAM for one more year.

The Company’s senior brands manager for Alcoholics Twikale Chirwa said the Company decided to continue sponsoring the competition after being impressed with last year’s competition.

The competition last year was so exciting as we saw a non top flight league side reach the final for the first time. So we did not hesitate to continue sponsoring this tournament after our initial three year contract with FAM expired last year, said Chirwa.

FAM general secretary Suzgo Nyirenda thanked Carlsberg for continuing investing in Malawi football.

Carlsberg does a lot for Malawi football, they are the official sponsors of the National Football team and grassroots football through the Copa Cocacola Schools Cup and we don’t take that for granted. We promise to deliver a successful and exciting competition again this year, said Nyirenda.

The 2015 Carlsberg Cup is being sponsored  to the tune of K30 million. The Cup will be participated by the 15 Super League teams and 36 Premier Division teams from the three regional leagues namely SRFL, CRFL and NRFL.


The competition will be played in two phases. All games will be played on knockout basis. There will be no extra time or replays and games will go straight to penalties in case of draws.

Phase One

This phase will involve teams 36 teams from the three Regional Leagues Premier Division, with each region registering 12 top from last season log tables as follows:

Blantyre United, Green Hakws, Zomba United, Evrom, Nchalo United, Changalume Barracks, Max Bullets, Bvumbwe Research, Nyasa United, Prison United, Ndirande Icons and Cobbe Barracks in the Southern Region.

In the Central region teams that have registered to participate in this tournament are Mitundu FV, Nsundwe Fc, Master Security, Civo Reserve, Support Battalion, Dwangwa United, Silver Strikers Reserve, Kasungu Police, Kasungu Medicals and Black Eagles.

While in the Northern region teams that will battle it out are Op FC, Chilumba Barracks, Kapolo Stars, Chalaghala FC, Rumphi Medicals and Karonga United.

Carlsberg Cup Regional Phase Draw

The draw for the 2015 Carlsberg Cup Regional phase took place this morning at the Chiwembe Technical Centre in Blantyre. Games will start on 30th May 2015. Each Region will produce three teams for the national phase.

Below is the full draw:



Ndirande Icons vs. Prison United

Cobbe Barracks vs. Max Bullets FC

Nchalo United vs. Green Hawks

Blantyre United vs. Nyasa United

Changalume Barracks vs. Evirom FC

Zomba United vs. Bvumbwe Rsch


Zomba United/ Bvumbwe Rsch vs. Ndirande Icons/ Prison United

Blantyre United/ Nyasa United vs. Evirom FC/Changalume

Cobbe Barracks/Max Bullets vs. Green Hawks/Nchalo United



Black Eagles vs. Mitundu

Silver Strikers Reserves vs. Dwangwa United

Occaso vs. Master Security

Msundwe FC vs. Support Battalion

Civo United Rsv. vs. Kasungu Medicals

Kasungu Police vs.Hard Knockers


Civo United Rsv/Kasungu Medicals vs. Occaso/ Master Security

Silver Strikers Rsv/ Dwangwa United vs. Kasungu Police/Hard Knockers

Black Eagles/ Mitundu vs.Msundwe FC/ Support Battalion


OP FC vs. Chalaghala FC

Kaporo Stars vs. Chirumba Barracks

Rumphi Medicals vs. Kabwafu FC


Karonga United FC Rumphi Medicals/Kabwafu Fc

South: Number 2 up to Number 12 plus Blantyre United

Central: Number 2 up to number 13.

North: Number 2 up to number 12 plus Karonga United.

First round: All the 12 teams will go into a pot and draw six fixtures to produce six winners for the second round.

Second round: The six first round winners will go into a pot for a draw of three fixtures to produce three winners that will qualify for the national stage.

Phase Two

The nine teams from the regional leagues with then join the 15 Super league teams for the national draw which will take place on 23rd June.

Top eight teams from last season’s TNM Super league standings Big Bullets FC, Moyale FC, Mafco, Blue Eagles, Silver Strikers, Civo, Azam Tigers and Red Lions will be seeded for the National phase preliminary round. The remaining seven Super League teams, Mighty Wanderers, Kamuzu Barracks, Epac FC, Airborne Rangers, Surestream FC, Dedza Young Soccer and Mzuni will join the nine regional league teams to make the national phase preliminary round of 16 which will be played between 30th June and 12th July 2015.

The eight winning teams from that round will then join the seeded eight Super League teams for the National phase round of 16 to be played between 18th and 26th July 2015.

Quarterfinals will be played between 1st and 2nd August with Semifinals set for weekends between 15th 23rd August.

The final will be on 29th August 2015.


All in Malawi Kwacha

Winner 9,000,000.00

Runners-up 4,000,000.00

Semi-Finalists 500,000.00 each

Quarter Finalists 300,000.00 each

Individual Prizes

Top Goal Scorer 100,000.00

Man of the Match 10,000.00 each from the quarterfinals

Discovery of the tournament 100,000.00

Best Print Media Reporter 100,000.00

Best Electronic Media  Reporter 100,000.00

Big Bullets are the defending champions after they beat Premier division side Zomba United 2-0 in last years final.

Share Button

Leave a Comment